Hoki-ryu Iaido

Hoki-ryu developed from the Katayama-ryu in the first half of the 17th century and concentrates mainly on Iai - the sudden drawing of the sword as a reaction to an attack.

Hatakeyama-ha Katori Shinto-ryu

The Katori Shinto-ryu is among the oldest still practiced Japanese martial arts (15th century). Among other things, the use of the sword, the wooden staff and the naginata is taught.

Katayama-ryu Iai-kenjutsu

The Katayama-ryu originated around 1600. The section on Iai-kenjutsu concentrates entirely on sword fighting. Techniques of Iaijutsu as well as partner exercises are taught.

Asayama Ichiden-ryu Taijutsu

Whilst the Asayama Ichiden-ryu - which originated in 1566 – teaches the handling of various weapons, we focus primarily on its teachings of Jujutsu – the unarmed combat.

Katayama-ryu Kogusoku

The Kogusoku part of the Katayama-ryu teaches various melee sword fighting techniques, like those executed with shorter blades, giving a further insight into the use of these weapons.

Fuden-ryu Sojutsu

Fuden-ryu is a style of spear fighting that has developed from the Takenouchi-ryu around 1600, on which also the Katayama-ryu is descended.